Sunday, April 25, 2010

Oratorical Contest Winners Announced

Selin Jessa is the winner of the Coquitlam Optimist Club’s annual Oratorical Contest held on April 21. For her first place finish Selin received a $500 cash award. Joylyn Secunda placed second and received $250. Third-place winner Sherwyn D’Souza received $100.

On April 24, Selin and Joylyn competed in the Fraser Valley Zone Oratorical Contest, placing second and third, respectively. Selin and the zone winner from Abbotsford have advanced to compete in the Regional Oratorical Contest on May 2 against students from the Vancouver-Burnaby-North Shore-Victoria Zone. The first and second place winners from that contest will advance to the Pacific Northwest District finals with a chance to win a $2500 scholarship.

Pictured (left to right): Selin Jessa, Joylyn Secunda, Sherwyn D’Souza; (standing behind): Oratorical Chair Peter Smith

No comments: